Skip to content

EKS Cluster Basics


You will need the up to date versions of the following tools installed -


If you are not familiar with it eksctl is the official Amazon EKS CLI tool.

Create Amazon EKS Cluster

Step 1

Run the following command to create a 4 node EKS cluster replacing <CLUSTER_NAME> and <REGION_NAME> with a cluster name and region name of your choice:

eksctl create cluster \
  --name <CLUSTER_NAME> \
  --region <REGION_NAME> \
  --node-type m5.large \
  --nodes 4 \
  --with-oidc \


A minimum of 4 nodes is required to support a Sawtooth network using the PBFT consensus plugin or a Besu network using IBFT consensus. However smaller clusters can be added to such an existing network


In the unlikely event that you choose a region that that doesn't support Amazon EKS then eksctl will report an error and list the supported regions

Step 2

Make a brew as this is going to take a few minutes

Step 3

Once your cluster is ready run the following command to check its configuration

  kubectl get svc

This should return something similar to this

kubernetes   ClusterIP   <none>        443/TCP   9m45s

Using your Amazon EKS Cluster

Now that you have created this cluster you can add it to list of the target clusters available to Sextant by following the instructions here.

Alternatively if you intend to install Sextant on this cluster then you can do so by following the instructions here.

Delete Amazon EKS cluster


Do not delete your EKS cluster if it is running Sextant or it is hosting any Sextant managed deployments.

Assuming that your EKS cluster isn't running Sextant then before deleting it make sure that it isn't hosting any Sextant managed deployments. If it is and you still want to delete it then

  • Undeploy and delete any active deployments running on it using Sextant
  • Then delete any provisioned clusters in Sextant

Run the following command to delete your EKS cluster replacing <CLUSTER_NAME> and <REGION_NAME> with the appropriate cluster and region name:

eksctl delete cluster \
  --name <CLUSTER_NAME> \
  --region <REGION_NAME>